See you at the 20th anniversary of the European PhD School in 2019!

For the 20th anniversary of the PhD School we are preparing a very high level program. Soon, final program will be available. Following, confirmed lecturers:












  • Leo Lorenz (ECPE – Germany)
  • Johann Walter Kolar (ETH Zurich – Switzerland)
  • Marcello Canova (Ohio State University)
  • Drazen Dujic (EPFL – Switzerland)
  • Bernd Neuner (ZES ZIMMER Electronic Systems GmbH – Germany)
  • Ilknur Colak (Maschinenfabrik Reinhausen)
  • Samuel Araujo (Robert Bosch GmbH)
  • Sasa Djokic (University of Edinburgh-UK)
  • Massimiliano Visintin – General Electric
  • Elena Breaz and Fei Gao (University of Technology of Belfort- Montbeliard – France )
  • Mario Saggio (ST Microelectronics)


Final program will also include:

  • keynote session, scheduled on Monday 20th, 2019;
  • research activity presentation by participant PhD’s (poster sessions) scheduled on Monday 20th (last year PhD’s) and Wednesday 22nd (all other PhD’s)
  • recruitment session (selected companies will make one-to-one interview for recruitment of PhD’s);
  • live demo sessions, scheduled on Tuesday 21st


Registration fee for the 2019 Edition of the School:

  • early bird registration: € 300 per participant (before March 15th, 2019)
  • standard registration: € 340 per participant


2019 Edition Program

Date: May 20-24, 2019

Venue: Angevin Castle, Gaeta – Italy

Program: soon available



ECTS Credits

Also in 2019 edition it is mandatory to pass the PhD Final Evaluation Test to achieve ECTS certification. Final test will be scheduled just after the last lecture of  May 24th, 2019. Alternatively, a certification of attendance will be issued. 

Technical sponsor of the 2019 edition of the European PhD School:


Main industrial sponsors of the 2019 edition of the European PhD School

zes_logo Hitachi_logo

European PhD School Award 2018

All the PhD School Organizing Committee is pleased to announce the two winners of the European PhD School Award 2018:


2Giuseppe Volpe

Affiliation: University of Cassino and Southern Lazio (Italy)

Title of Research Activity: Innovative Design and Performance Prediction of Traction E-Machine for Motorsport Application



2-PhotoQing Liu

Affiliation: University of Padua

Title of Research Activity: Large-bandwidth triple-loop control of the grid-connected inverter

The PhD School will start in:

Video of PhD School

The Venue

The Venue: the Angevine castle sits in the heart of Gaeta. The lower part of the castle was built during the rule of House of Anjou; the upper section was constructed by order of Emperor Charles V. The tall tower rising from the castle is the home of the Royal Chapel. The Montagna Spaccata, or Split Mountain, offers panoramic views and has a church sitting at its base. Its 35 steps take you to the fissure in the mountain, which overlooks the ocean and surrounding countryside.

Discover more about Gaeta in the “Venue” section of this website

Latest From News

Latest Video

Click edit button to change this code.